Top Left Header
Header
Opinion
Arrow
Title - opinion
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info


Let us remember them
Let us remember them
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Nov. 6, 2014: A private members bill by NDP Member of Parliament Dan Harris is currently making its way through the House of Commons with support of the Federal Government. This bill, C-597, would make Remembrance Day a statutory federal holiday. While I understand the idea behind the bill, I do not agree with Remembrance Day being a statutory holiday. FULL STORY



What are the Liberals trying to hide? Limited access to Ontario
PHOTO CREDIT -
p-first.com
What are the Liberals trying to hide? Limited access to Ontario's sex-ed curriculum
Media Release
Parents as First Educators

Toronto - Nov. 5, 2014: Just days after the conclusion of the 2014 school board elections, the Kathleen Wynne Liberal government announced that a new “sexual health” program will be implemented in Ontario schools in less than a year, but without giving access to the proposed changes to parents, trustees and Ontarians at large. FULL STORY



We don
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
We don't need no (sex) education
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Nov. 3, 2014: With apologies to Pink Floyd's “Another Brick in the Wall”, we don't need Kathleen Wynne's changes in Ontario to how sex education is taught. While the Ontario Liberals plan has yet to be released, if it is anything remotely close to what was in the 2010 plan that was shelved during the time Wynne was Education Minister, then it will be the most progressive and intrusive foray by the state into the realm of parenting. FULL STORY



Some things are just plain dumb
PHOTO CREDIT -
EdmontonJournal.com
Some things are just plain dumb
John R. Bolton
OurHometown.ca

Calgary - Aug. 8, 2014: It wasn't that long ago that golf was the fastest growing game around. Kids and adults were signing up at record levels to play and getting a tee off time or getting a round in in less than 5 hours was near impossible. Green fees also skyrocketed with the game's popularity. Damn you law of supply and demand! Oh how times have changed. Somewhere between the appearance of Tiger Woods and his illicit affairs golf has entered the doldrums and the golf business is desperate to get people back on the links. What they're doing is pretty typical of our society... dumbing it down. FULL STORY



Time for a carbon tax
PHOTO CREDIT -
thebigsmoke.com.au
Time for a carbon tax
John R. Bolton
OurHometown.ca

Calgary - Jul. 3, 2014: As the next federal election approaches, I can't help but think global warming/climate change/climate disruption will be a big issue. I also think the next Prime Minister may be eager to pass some type of global warming/climate change/climate disruption legislation to change the weather... like a carbon tax. In fact, Liberal leader Justin Trudeau said he was in favour of it the other day. It may astound people who know me, but I'm all in. FULL STORY



Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?
Chris Savard
OurHometown.ca

Stoney Point - Jun. 25, 2014: Yesterday, OurHometown.ca received a media release from Premier Kathleen Wynne and one sentence in particular in the release caught my attention: I will lead an open and transparent government that is guided by integrity and informed by the profound responsibility to make life better for everyone across Ontario – from Kenora to Cornwall to Chatham. FULL STORY



Ontario, comfortably the same
PHOTO CREDIT -
Boldts.net
Ontario, comfortably the same
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jun. 24, 2014: Now that the election is over, there is a comfort in knowing the Liberals have won a majority at Queen's Park. That comfort comes from knowing where you stand as a taxpayer in Ontario. You are going to pay more, for everything, in Ontario. The Liberals were very forthcoming with that before the election with their budget, and during the election by promising the same budget they were defeated on. FULL STORY



Will Byvelds run for a second term
PHOTO CREDIT -
Infrastructure Canada
Will Byvelds run for a second term
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jun. 21, 2014: Will Steven Byvelds run for a second term as Mayor of South Dundas? As reported in various media since the opening of the nomination period of the 2014 Municipal Election, Mayor Byvelds he would wait until summer to announce his intentioned. A comment echoed to this writer when I asked the Mayor after a committee meeting a week and a half ago. His comment was that it was not summer yet. FULL STORY



Wynne, Redford: A tale of two provinces
PHOTO CREDIT -
CBC.ca
Wynne, Redford: A tale of two provinces
John R. Bolton
OurHometown.ca

Calgary - Jun. 19, 2014: After two and a half years in Alberta, Ontario politics still fascinate me and I watch what happens closely, from afar. The recent election that gave the Liberals a majority had me thinking about how different Alberta is from my old province. Let me explain. FULL STORY



Go now Tim Hudak, just go
Go now Tim Hudak, just go
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jun. 18, 2014: Tim Hudak should leave now. Not once the Ontario Progressive Conservative Party decides to hold their leadership convention and elect a new leader. Leave now. Don't let the door hit you on the way out. FULL STORY



Title - Story Count
7,011 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 7,011 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Columnists archives or, why not Contribute a Story yourself!

OurHometown.ca offers a very generous revenue sharing opportunity for our Columnists. If you are interested in learning more details about writing for us, please send us an EMAIL.
 McNaughton Brings Main Street not Bay Street Tour to Chatham


Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!

Title - News Sources
CBC CTV
Global News Sun News Network
Montreal Gazette Ottawa Citizen
Chronicle Herald Vancouver Sun
National Post Globe and Mail
Toronto Star MacLeans
Canadian Press News Watch Canada
CFRA News Talk Radio News 1010
CNN ABC
CBS MSNBC
Chicago Tribune New York Times
Boston Herald Miami Herald
Dallas News Los Angelese Times
BBC Aljazeera
The Sun China Daily




Footer

Free Sitemap Generator