Top Left Header
Header
Opinion
Arrow
Title - opinion
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info


Trudeau misses the mark
PHOTO CREDIT -
Justin.ca
Trudeau misses the mark
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jun. 18, 2015: Federal Liberal leader Justin Trudeau released his party’s platform in the run up for the 2015 Federal Election this fall. When it comes to a hodgepodge of promises and ideas, this document fails to disappoint. However the younger Trudeau misses the mark. Case in point, electoral reform. Trudeau the Younger, wants to move away from the first-past-the-post system of voting to one more representative of Canadian’s wishes. FULL STORY



Windsor Raceway - All But Gone
Windsor Raceway - All But Gone
Tim Cornett
OurHometown.ca

Windsor - Jun. 6, 2015: As demolition of the Windsor Raceway begins this week I’m reminded of all the good times I spent there over the years. My earliest memory of the place was the day my mom and dad took us to see it. I was about seven years old, and if I remember right, it was an open house affair, where we were all allowed to go out onto the racing surface. It felt like rubber, and was called something like the Tartan Track. FULL STORY



 Review needed of Levin touchables
PHOTO CREDIT -
TorontoSun.com
Review needed of Levin touchables
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jun. 6, 2015: Sicko. A sicko, a pervert, who was placed in the trust of guiding education policy in Ontario for children. How can Premier Kathleen Wynne not order a review of every document, every policy, every report or email that Ben Levin, her deputy, dealt with? How? FULL STORY



The political irony of union strife
PHOTO CREDIT -
theNextFamily.com
The political irony of union strife
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - May. 20, 2015: Isn't it ironic that the very unions which supported Kathleen Wynne and the provincial Liberal party during the 2014 election, are, one year later, protesting the actions of that party in power? It is not just one union which has been hit with this irony either, but on many fronts. The Elementary Teachers Federation of Ontario (ETFO) spent $1.3 million in third-party election advertising in 2014, campaigning directly and in-directly against a Progressive Conservative government in Queen’s Park. FULL STORY



Desperation at Queen
PHOTO CREDIT -
Boldts.net
Desperation at Queen's Park
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Apr. 16, 2015: Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne's frantic look at selling off crown assets to fund her transit and infrastructure plans, is akin to checking the couch cushions for spare change or looking for old jewelery to hock at the cash-for-gold place. It smacks of desperation and its Ontarians that are going to pay in the long run. Reports are due out today that will recommend that the Ontario government sell off 15 per cent of Hydro One each year, over the next four years, to fund new government spending. FULL STORY



Time to drop the “Progressive” in Progressive Conservative
PHOTO CREDIT -
Boldts.net
Time to drop the “Progressive” in Progressive Conservative
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Apr. 14, 2015: One can easily argue that in 2015, we have one of the most progressive, Liberal governments provincially in Ontario history. Some in the province will wear that title as a badge of honour. The badge of being a progressive is not what it was 100 years ago. The provincial PC’s have had their butts handed to them not once, not twice, or even three times but four consecutive elections. FULL STORY



Judy Bobka will be forever missed
PHOTO CREDIT -
File Photo
Judy Bobka will be forever missed
Chris Savard
OurHometown.ca

Stoney Point - Apr. 10, 2015: Today, I was deeply saddened to learn of the passing of a great lady, relentless supporter and a dear friend. Judy Bobka passed away yesterday. Our sympathies to her husband Dan, her daughter Sarah and family. Cornwall, SDG, and the province at large has lost a wonderful human. FULL STORY



Duffy circus has come to town
PHOTO CREDIT -
GlobeandMail.ca
Duffy circus has come to town
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Apr. 7, 2015: The Mike Duffy circus has come to town, the only question really to be answered is, is what role will Duffy be? The clown, or the ringmaster? It is destined to be three-ringed absurdity of political mayhem, intrigue and conspiracy. The details will come out in court, and are well known. The alleged bribe. The alleged false expense reports. The alleged coverup. Round and round it will go. The result of the trial, and the fallout from it, will become “Exhibit A” for the cause of reforming the Senate. FULL STORY



The benefit of public utilities
PHOTO CREDIT -
CornwallElectric.com
The benefit of public utilities
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Mar. 31, 2015: The manufactured belief that publicly-owned utilities like Ontario Power Generation, Hydro One, Cornwall Electric or Rideau-St. Lawrence Utilities are for our own good, is a falsehood. Public ownership has morphed over the decades from being for the common good, to another form of high taxation and waste. FULL STORY



One of the Faces of Autism
One of the Faces of Autism
Cynthia Burk
OurHometown.ca

Stoney Point - Mar. 27, 2015: Autism Awareness week kicks off today, March 27th with Light It Blue fast approaching on April 2nd. Autism affects information processing in the brain and how this occurs is not well understood. I love the saying out there that “autism isn’t an operating error … it’s a different operating system.” Autism has been prevalent in the news the last couple of years with some inspirational and some heart wrenching stories. FULL STORY



Title - Story Count
7,568 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 7,568 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Columnists archives or, why not Contribute a Story yourself!

OurHometown.ca offers a very generous revenue sharing opportunity for our Columnists. If you are interested in learning more details about writing for us, please send us an EMAIL.
Windsor Homes Coalition needs your help!


Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!

Title - News Sources
CBC CTV
Global News Sun News Network
Montreal Gazette Ottawa Citizen
Chronicle Herald Vancouver Sun
National Post Globe and Mail
Toronto Star MacLeans
Canadian Press News Watch Canada
CFRA News Talk Radio News 1010
CNN ABC
CBS MSNBC
Chicago Tribune New York Times
Boston Herald Miami Herald
Dallas News Los Angelese Times
BBC Aljazeera
The Sun China Daily




Footer

Free Sitemap Generator