Top Left Header
Header
Opinion
Arrow
Title - opinion
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info


South Stormont makes news for wrong reasons (again)
PHOTO CREDIT -
SouthStormont.ca
South Stormont makes news for wrong reasons (again)
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jan. 15, 2015: The Township of South Stormont is making news for all the wrong reasons. South Stormont Mayor Jim Bancroft, and a majority of the council, have opted for legal opinions about a policy that would force anyone at a public council meeting to obtain permission to use a recording device. This means everyone, including journalists, and includes cameras, video cameras and even audio recording. FULL STORY



The Case for Sir John A.
The Case for Sir John A.
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jan. 11, 2015: Today, January the 11th, marks the 200 birthday of Sir John A. Macdonald, Canada's "Father of Confederation" and first Prime Minister. In the typical Canadian-way, there are few celebrations of this bicentennial planned outside of his ancestral home of Kingston, Ontario. That is unfortunate because the legacy of his man should be celebrated as there would be no Canada without Sir John A.. FULL STORY



Autism: An understanding by the broader community is growing!
Autism: An understanding by the broader community is growing!
Cynthia Burk
OurHometown.ca

Stoney Point - Dec. 14, 2014: I read the amazing letter shared by Kerry Magro and bawled. It hit home as many stories from our community do and I shared it with friends and family and posted it on our facebook page. I thought I would write a short article to share it with the broader community. I often write “our community” meaning the ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) community, and it is a great and broad community thanks to social media. FULL STORY



Let us remember them
Let us remember them
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Nov. 6, 2014: A private members bill by NDP Member of Parliament Dan Harris is currently making its way through the House of Commons with support of the Federal Government. This bill, C-597, would make Remembrance Day a statutory federal holiday. While I understand the idea behind the bill, I do not agree with Remembrance Day being a statutory holiday. FULL STORY



What are the Liberals trying to hide? Limited access to Ontario
PHOTO CREDIT -
p-first.com
What are the Liberals trying to hide? Limited access to Ontario's sex-ed curriculum
Media Release
Parents as First Educators

Toronto - Nov. 5, 2014: Just days after the conclusion of the 2014 school board elections, the Kathleen Wynne Liberal government announced that a new “sexual health” program will be implemented in Ontario schools in less than a year, but without giving access to the proposed changes to parents, trustees and Ontarians at large. FULL STORY



We don
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
We don't need no (sex) education
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Nov. 3, 2014: With apologies to Pink Floyd's “Another Brick in the Wall”, we don't need Kathleen Wynne's changes in Ontario to how sex education is taught. While the Ontario Liberals plan has yet to be released, if it is anything remotely close to what was in the 2010 plan that was shelved during the time Wynne was Education Minister, then it will be the most progressive and intrusive foray by the state into the realm of parenting. FULL STORY



Some things are just plain dumb
PHOTO CREDIT -
EdmontonJournal.com
Some things are just plain dumb
John R. Bolton
OurHometown.ca

Calgary - Aug. 8, 2014: It wasn't that long ago that golf was the fastest growing game around. Kids and adults were signing up at record levels to play and getting a tee off time or getting a round in in less than 5 hours was near impossible. Green fees also skyrocketed with the game's popularity. Damn you law of supply and demand! Oh how times have changed. Somewhere between the appearance of Tiger Woods and his illicit affairs golf has entered the doldrums and the golf business is desperate to get people back on the links. What they're doing is pretty typical of our society... dumbing it down. FULL STORY



Time for a carbon tax
PHOTO CREDIT -
thebigsmoke.com.au
Time for a carbon tax
John R. Bolton
OurHometown.ca

Calgary - Jul. 3, 2014: As the next federal election approaches, I can't help but think global warming/climate change/climate disruption will be a big issue. I also think the next Prime Minister may be eager to pass some type of global warming/climate change/climate disruption legislation to change the weather... like a carbon tax. In fact, Liberal leader Justin Trudeau said he was in favour of it the other day. It may astound people who know me, but I'm all in. FULL STORY



Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?
PHOTO CREDIT -
KathleenWynne.ca
Has Kathleen Wynne given up on Windsor-Essex?
Chris Savard
OurHometown.ca

Stoney Point - Jun. 25, 2014: Yesterday, OurHometown.ca received a media release from Premier Kathleen Wynne and one sentence in particular in the release caught my attention: I will lead an open and transparent government that is guided by integrity and informed by the profound responsibility to make life better for everyone across Ontario – from Kenora to Cornwall to Chatham. FULL STORY



Ontario, comfortably the same
PHOTO CREDIT -
Boldts.net
Ontario, comfortably the same
Phillip Blancher
OurHometown.ca

South Dundas - Jun. 24, 2014: Now that the election is over, there is a comfort in knowing the Liberals have won a majority at Queen's Park. That comfort comes from knowing where you stand as a taxpayer in Ontario. You are going to pay more, for everything, in Ontario. The Liberals were very forthcoming with that before the election with their budget, and during the election by promising the same budget they were defeated on. FULL STORY



Title - Story Count
7,249 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date OurHometown.ca has posted a total of 7,249 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Columnists archives or, why not Contribute a Story yourself!

OurHometown.ca offers a very generous revenue sharing opportunity for our Columnists. If you are interested in learning more details about writing for us, please send us an EMAIL.
Winerific Weekend


Follow OurHometown.ca on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!

Title - News Sources
CBC CTV
Global News Sun News Network
Montreal Gazette Ottawa Citizen
Chronicle Herald Vancouver Sun
National Post Globe and Mail
Toronto Star MacLeans
Canadian Press News Watch Canada
CFRA News Talk Radio News 1010
CNN ABC
CBS MSNBC
Chicago Tribune New York Times
Boston Herald Miami Herald
Dallas News Los Angelese Times
BBC Aljazeera
The Sun China Daily




Footer

Free Sitemap Generator