Lafrance feature winner and Canadian Nationals champ at Cornwall Motor Speedway
Martin Belanger

Lafrance feature winner and Canadian Nationals champ at Cornwall Motor Speedway
Stephane Lafrance led the final laps to win the race and be crowned Canadian Nationals champion, finishing in front of Terrance, Planck, Bilodeau and Pat O'Brien.
PHOTO CREDIT - Allison Papineau

Cornwall - Sep. 25, 2011 - The Cornwall Motor Speedway was presenting its final event of the season with the completion of the Jiffy 200. A combined 125-lap Modified feature counting towards the final race of the Canadian Nationals and the MrDIRTcar 358-Modified Series. Also the Mohawk Race Parts Pro-Stock Series was ending with a 50-lap event. The Sportsman, Semi-Pro and Mini-Stock were also part of the schedule.

Mario Clair and Kayle Robidoux, were on the top row of the 34-car field that took the start in the 125-lap Modified MrDIRTcar/Canadian Nationals feature. Clair took the lead in front of Ladouceur followed by Yan Bussiere.

Bussiere was really strong on top passing both cars on the same lap and grabbed the lead on lap 4. The leaders quickly got into traffic on lap 8. Matt Billings brought the field together on lap 11 has he had some issues with his car. Bussiere stays in front as Danny Johnson that started 24th was now flirting with the top 5. In the front, Stephane Lafrance was using the same lane as Bussiere and got closer to the leader with 22 laps completed. Billings brought the second caution on lap 28.

On the following green, Kayle Robidoux rolled over in turn 3 and the red flag was out on lap 35. The 2 leaders in the MrDIRTcar Series, Danny O'Brien and Danny Johnson, headed to the pits to change a tire. Bussiere still in front with Lafrance and Ladouceur behind him with Carey Terrance and Dale Planck being able to pass him for fifth as caution came out on lap 44. Johnson headed to the pits with issues with his left front wheel.

With Bussiere keeping his first spot, Ladouceur stepped up to second with Terrance, Lafrance and Planck the top on lap 50. Bruno Lepage slowed down in turn 4 and caution came out on lap 54. A good battle for top positions on the restart on lap 57 with Bussiere running in front of Terrance as Lafrance was right behind them. Bussiere goes too high in the back shoot and Lafrance took this opportunity to grab the top spot over Terrance and Bussiere now running in third. Brian McDonald brought the caution on lap 70 and headed to the pits. The 10-minute mandatory pit stop took place in front of the grandstand.

On the restart for the last portion of the feature, Lafrance stayed in front as he was followed by Terrance, Bussiere, Ladouceur and Planck. Brian McDonald hits the wall in the front stretch and the yellow lights were out on lap 77. The positions didn`t change for the top 4 as Dany Bilodeau was now in fifth. Pat Cashman gets out of shape and the yellow is out on lap 87. On the green, Lafrance in front as Planck had a good start and took fourth in front Ladouceur. Planck was running strong on top and took third from Bussiere on lap 97. With 100 laps completed, Lafrance was in front over Terrance, Planck, Bussiere and Ladouceur. Pierre Dagenais stopped in turn 4 and caution was back on lap 103. Lafrance built himself a great lead with Planck passing Terrance for second, Bilodeau charges back and grabs fourth over Ladouceur with more than 15 laps to be completed. Terrance is able to make a late pass on Planck and retakes second. Lafrance led the final laps to win the race and was crowned the Canadian Nationals champion, Lafrance finished in front of Terrance, Planck, Bilodeau and Pat O'Brien to complete the top 5.

In the Mohawk Pro-Stock Race Parts Series, Dion Oakes took the lead over Dave Bissonnette and Stephane Lebrun. Bissonnette uses the outside lane and passed Oakes for the lead has point`s leader Joey Ladouceur was running in third. Ladouceur attacks Oakes and took second on lap 7. The outside lane seemed to be the way to go in the early stages as Corey Wheeler passes Ladouceur for second on two laps later.

A new player comes in as George Renaud as joined the leaders and was now in second on lap 13. The race had taken a good pace when Wheeler hits a lapped car and caution is out on lap 32. On this same yellow, Bissonnette had issues and gave the lead to George Renaud with Ghislain Valade and Ryan Stabler behind him. Stabler used the inside lane and took the lead on lap 39.

Stabler never looked back and got his first feature of his career in the Pro-Stock by finishing in front of Renaud, Valade, Rosco Garreau and Joey Ladouceur completed the top 5.

A good field of 22 Sportsman cars took the green flag in the 20-lap event. Corey Winters was the early leader when second place runner Mitch Primeau loses his car and yellow is out on lap 4. Shane Pecore is strong on the restart and passes Winters with Chris Herbison running in third. Herbison is able to pass Winters for second on lap 11. Pecore leds the final laps to win the feature over Herbison and Phillips.

The 15-lap Semi-Pro feature closed the evening. Nico Leblanc made a late pass on the final lap to win the race over Derek Cryderman and Kevin McCrae.

In the 12-lap Mini-Stock feature, Ernie Cree took the lead over Mathieu Aubin and Marc Usereau. Cree led from wire to wire to capture the win over Aubin and Usereau.

This event completed the 2011 season at Conrwall Motor Speedway. We would like to thank all our fans, race teams and sponsors for their support throughout the season. Please visit the speedway website for all the future details on the 2012 season at

Follow on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!
Send Us Your Thoughts

Title - Story Count
8,397 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date has posted a total of 8,397 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

Title - More OH Headlines
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
Detroit Grand Prix Canceled for 2020
Team Canada will not send athletes to Games in summer 2020 due to COVID-19 risks
NBA to suspend season following Wednesday
Lyn St. James to Race in Historic Trans-Am Series at the 2020 Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix
2019 Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear Fast Facts News Database Last Updated:
Dec. 31, 2021 @ 8:03 AM EST

Free Sitemap Generator