Top Left Header

Deadline for nomination for Prime Minister’s awards approaching

Gord Brown
MP - Leeds, Grenville

Deadline for nomination for Prime Minister’s awards approaching
MP Gord Brown, Leeds-Grenville reminds Canadians that The Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards (PMVA) is a new program that has been created to celebrate significant volunteer contributions. These awards highlight best practices in community leadership and encourage partnerships across sectors.

Brockville - Aug. 12, 2011 - You have seen them lead fundraising events or spearhead new initiatives to tackle local challenges. Often they work behind the scenes. They are the key to the success of our communities and every day their contributions help make Canada stronger by making a difference and inspiring hope.

They are the individuals, local businesses and not-for-profit organizations that volunteer their time, energy and skills to improve the well-being of families and communities across Canada.

Volunteers make an enormous impact. Yet, all too often, their contributions do not receive the recognition that they deserve.

The Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards (PMVA) is a new program that has been created to celebrate these contributions. These awards highlight best practices in community leadership and encourage partnerships across sectors.

They will recognize the exceptional contributions of volunteers, local businesses and innovative not-for-profit organizations in improving the well-being of families and their communities across the country. These contributions have an enormous impact and make Canada stronger by initiating change and inspiring hope.

A total of 17 awards will be given: 15 regional and two national awards. Recipients will be eligible to identify a not-for-profit organization to receive a grant for $5,000 (regional awards) or $10,000 (national awards).

National award categories

One award will be given every year in each of the following two categories.

Lifelong Achievement"to recognize individuals who have made a difference in their communities by volunteering and by providing leadership over the course of their lives (generally for a period of at least 20 years).

Emerging Leader"to recognize new volunteers who are helping to build stronger communities through exceptional voluntary leadership, and who have made a positive difference in their community over a short period of time (generally for a period of less than three years).

Regional award categories

One award in each of the following categories will be given per region.

Community Leader"to recognize individuals or groups who have taken a lead role in developing solutions to local problems.

Business Leader"to recognize businesses that demonstrate social responsibility in their business practices.

Social Innovator"to recognize not-for-profit organizations that demonstrate innovation in addressing social challenges.

The five regions are: Atlantic (New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island); Quebec; Ontario; Prairies (Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan); and British Columbia and the North (Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon).

The first call for nominations is open from July 12 to September 9, 2011. Award recipients will be recognized at an award ceremony to be held in early 2012.

Nominees can be individuals or groups, businesses, or not-for-profit organizations.Nominators may be any person or organization with direct knowledge of the nominee’s contribution.

Nominees in all award categories must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Individual nominees must be Canadian citizens, permanent residents or protected persons within the meaning of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, and at least 18 years of age.

  • Eligible organizations must be Canadian (i.e. registered not-for-profits or businesses registered in Canada).

  • All nominees must have contributed to addressing social challenges in their community.

  • Political and public advocacy work are excluded.

    Award recipients will be formally announced at an award ceremony in early 2012.

    I know that there are numerous individuals, businesses and not-for-profit organizations across Canada that deserve to be nominated for this award.

    Do you know some that are making a difference in your community? Recognize their contributions and show your appreciation by submitting a nomination. Nominees can be individuals or groups, businesses or not-for-profit organizations.

    To find out more about the Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards, the types of awards, the call for nominations, eligibility criteria and how to submit nominations, please visit the Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards website at or call 1-877-825-0434.

  • Follow on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!
    Send Us Your Thoughts

    Title - Story Count
    8,373 Stories & Growing Daily...

    To date has posted a total of 8,373 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

    Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

    Title - More OH Headlines
    Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
    Ontario’s return to school plan fails to meet legal health and safety requirements -Education unions
    Windsor Orders Use of Masks inside Public Spaces
    Windsor-Essex to Join the Rest of Province in Stage 3
    COVID Update - Windsor-Essex to remain in Stage 2
    Water over Road Warning - Lighthouse Cove News Database Last Updated:
    Aug. 14, 2020 @ 7:30 AM EDT

    Free Sitemap Generator